

Minutes of Planning Committee

Meeting date Thursday, 4 March 2021

Members present: Councillors Caleb Tomlinson (Chair), Malcolm Donoghue (Vice-

Chair), Will Adams, James Flannery, Mary Green,

Harry Hancock, Jon Hesketh, Chris Lomax, Christine Melia,

Caroline Moon, Phil Smith and Gareth Watson

Officers: Jonathan Noad (Director of Planning and Development),

Steven Brown (Head of Development Management), Debbie

Roberts (Senior Planning Officer), Catherine Lewis (Development Planning Team Leader), Chris Sowerby

(Development Planning Team Leader), Alex Jackson (Shared Legal Services Team Leader) and Charlotte Lynch (Democratic

and Member Services Officer)

Cabinet members: Councillor Bill Evans (Cabinet Member (Planning, Business

Support and Regeneration))

108 Welcome and Introduction

The Chair, Councillor Caleb Tomlinson, welcomed the committee and members of the public and explained that, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was being held over Microsoft Teams and livestreamed to YouTube.

109 Apologies for Absence

There were none.

110 Declarations of Interest

Councillor Caroline Moon declared a personal interest in item 6 – Worden Park, Worden Lane, Leyland.

Councillors Will Adams and James Flannery declared personal interests in item 7 – land to the north and south of the River Ribble.

111 Appeal Decisions

There were no appeal decisions to report.

112 07/2020/00774/FUL - Turbary House Nursery, Chain House Lane, Whitestake

This item was deferred to allow for further consultation with neighbours following an update to the description of the development.

113 07/2020/01064/FUL and 1065/LBC - Worden Park, Worden Lane, Leyland

Speakers: None

Address: Worden Park

Worden Lane Leyland Lancashire PR25 2DJ

Applicant: South Ribble Borough Council – Lee Nickson

Development: Listed building consent and planning permission for refurbishment and extension of Worden Hall to provide flexible community and events spaces, and regularisation of existing use classes across the park.

RESOLVED: (Unanimously)

That

- 1. listed building consent be granted; and
- 2. the application be approved subject to conditions outlined in the report.

114 Planning Application received by Lancashire County Council (South Ribble Ref: LCC/07/2021/00012) - Land to the north and south of the River Ribble

Members received a report of the Director of Planning and Development which outlined a planning application on behalf of Lancashire County Council (LCC) which sought approval for flood risk management works to the north and south banks of the River Ribble.

South Ribble Borough Council had been identified as a consultee to the application and so a response was sought from the Planning Committee.

Members were amenable to the proposals and it was subsequently RESOLVED (Unanimously) that members raise no objection in principle to the proposal but ask that Lancashire County Council consider the following aspects:

- 1. A commitment to continued discussion with Penwortham Town Council and South Ribble about the open space provision at Ribble Sidings; and
- 2. Further consideration is given to the final design of the replacement flood defence wall at Riverside Road.

115 Minutes of meeting Thursday, 14 January 2021 of Planning Committee

Members received the minutes of the meeting held on 14 January 2021, which had been deferred at the previous meeting to allow for amendments to be made.

A vote was taken and recorded as follows:

FOR: Councillors Will Adams, Mal Donoghue, James Flannery, Mary Green, Harry Hancock, Jon Hesketh, Christine Melia, Caroline Moon, Phil Smith, Caleb Tomlinson and Gareth Watson; and

ABSTAIN: Councillor Chris Lomax

It was subsequently RESOLVED (For: 11 Abstain: 1) that the minutes of the meeting held on 14 January 2020 be approved as a correct record.

116 Minutes of meeting Thursday, 11 February 2021 of Planning Committee

Members received the minutes of the previous meeting, held on 11 February 2021.

A vote was taken and recorded as follows:

FOR: Councillors Mal Donoghue, James Flannery, Mary Green, Harry Hancock, Jon Hesketh, Chris Lomax, Christine Melia, Caroline Moon, Phil Smith, Caleb Tomlinson and Gareth Watson; and

ABSTAIN: Councillor Will Adams

It was subsequently RESOLVED (For: 11 Abstain: 1) that the minutes of the meeting held on 14 January 2020 be approved as a correct record.

Chair	Date